Our sessions


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets out learning and development requirements which Early Years providers must deliver in a way that reflects the needs of individual children in their care.  The EYFS principles which guide the work of all Early Years Practitioners are divided into four themes:

A unique child

Positive Relationships

Enabling Environments

Learning and Development

During the sessions, children are supported by practitioners in all aspects of play and learning. All written observations and evidence of learning is kept in children’s individual files called their ‘Learning Journey ‘. Parents have access to these at any time.

The children’s ongoing thoughts and ideas for their chosen topic or project are displayed each week. These may be extended for one or more weeks, depending on the children’s individual interests, needs and responses.

Practitioners make regular observations and photos are taken of children at play to ensure that good progress is being made towards the ‘Early Learning Goals’ which are as follows:

Personal Social and Emotional Development – e.g. making relationships/independence skills (playing with or alongside others, relating to key person, washing hands, selecting activities)

Communication and Language - e.g. speaking and listening (role play, listening to stories)

Physical Development – e.g. fine and gross motor skills (play dough, painting, puzzles, running, jumping, pushing buggies, riding trikes)

Literacy - e.g. mark making, linking sounds and letters, interest in books

Mathematics – e.g.  building, counting, sorting, puzzles

Understanding the world - e.g. push button toys, interest in living things

Expressive arts and design – e.g. singing and dancing/art and craft (joining in with singing and actions, painting, sticking)